Older Entries
Current Entry
About Me
Cast
Photos
E-Mail
Host
The Hills Are Alive....With The Sound of Alaaaaannnnnaaaa.....
2003-05-01 - 3:58 p.m.

I must say, today is a gorgeous day. I mean beautiful. I will have been here in Vienna, Austria for 2 months come the 4th of May. When we first got here it was cold and bleak. It was raining and all the trees were brown and skeletal. I was thinking 'so this is it huh? This is Europe.' The route we took from the airport looked alot like Kansas. Still, I remained optimistic. Our house is huge. When I first walked in, all I could think of is Da-yamn this is ours? It's a 3 story, 5 bedroom, 3and a half bath, with a sunken in livingroom, formal dining room, and a family room. Plus, it came furnished with fancy furniture. I secretly thought, "I don't belong here. It's me Alana, half tomboy, half hippy from the ghetto. These people are gonna see right through me." My hair has been exactly the same my entire life. Long and straight with bangs. Looked great in the 70s and 80's. Now? I can even come up with something witty to say about it. I run barefoot everywhere and I laugh at jokes I make up in my head. Yes, I am self-entertaining. I do excellent impersonations of Elmo, Kermit the Frog, Eric Cartman, and Beavis. I love doing kareoke but I cant sing.

Well yadda yadda enough about me, my point is I am here with my family representing the US in the Embassy. I didn't think I'd fit that part at all. Whenever I'd hear the word Embassy I always pictured Prince Charles and Lady Di and Ambassadors all decked out. And then I'd come in, get drunk, and in my best Cartman voice say "Screw you guys, I'm goin home." Then I'd laugh hysterically and be thrown out.

I am however, relieved to say that none of this so far is at all what I thought it would be, which is a good thing. I can still wear jeans and keep my hair straight. The people are alot more relaxed. Although, I think I will wait awhile before I do my "come with me if you want to live/ I'll be back, Bennet".

The kids love the school which is right across the street. Its a private school but for them the cost is covered. Even the natives here have been kind. Of course they think Im Austrian because when they speak I smile and nod, smile and nod. And I know how to greet and say goodbye. I can almost hear them say "nice girl but there doesn't seem to be much going on upstairs".

The weather is nice now that spring is here and let me just say that Vienna is ooozing with flowers. I mean they are everywhere. On trees in everyones yard. Tulips especially. Lots o' tulips. But it's a nice city and kept very clean. I have seen a few places like the Schonnberg (sp?) Palace which is exquisite.

Before I start to bore myself, I think I'll go. But yea, Vienna's nice.

3 comments so far

Previous - Next

Recent Entries:
Christmas time is here... - 2008-12-24
What? I'm still here?? - 2008-09-08
Stay hair and weight for me! - 2008-06-21
The post that finally arrived. - 2008-06-14
Under the WTF?!!? files - 2008-03-07