Older Entries
Current Entry
About Me
Cast
Photos
E-Mail
Host
Crap with glitter
2007-02-09 - 8:56 a.m.

This morning Glen and I were discussing crap in the news. There seems to be a lot of it lately. So today will be a little list of things I�ve seen that just irritate the crap out of me. Although before I start I�ll say that this morning�s news announced the death of Anna Nicole Smith/Stern. At first I was shocked like, no waaay. The more I got to thinking about it though the more it wasn�t a total surprise. What with her son dying, post partum, the paternity controversy, her marriage etc. It may have all been too much too fast. Someone here at worked made the comment that it sounded like someone was offing the family one by one. I�m not really sure about the conspiracy theory but wow, what a couple of months. I still don�t by that Stern is the fathers but have no doubt he�ll fight to keep custody.

In the news:

Three things have gotten my goat. One is the Vagina/HooHaa Monologues thing. So some woman was driving by the marquee and her niece sees it and enquires what a vagina is. She is upset and doesn�t feel she has to explain that. She insists the name on the sign be changed from Vagina to HooHaa. Well, that�s just stupid. Since when is a vagina a dirty thing? Why do we have to be embarrassed or ashamed of the word? How on earth is it helpful for a little girl to not know the correct name for it? My vagina is not an obscenity. It�s a functional part of my body. People, give me a break. What do you say when your kid asks �What�s a HooHaa?� Same thing, no?

OK now for the whole astronauts thing. I do get that the woman had issues. She needs help no doubt and is obsessive. But to charge her with attempted murder? I�d be really surprised if that sticks. Of course it being US who knows. Aggravated assault, yes. Defiantly. Attempted kidnapping, maybe. But attempted murder? Because she had a tube and gloves and a buck knife? Well, it looks bad but it doesn�t prove to me 100% beyond reasonable doubt that she had set out with the intent to kill. I would need a bit stronger proof. I think it�s going a bit overboard with the sensationalism. Apparently astronauts can�t have issues.

And then there�s the whole Snickers commercial thing. It�s homophobic so is offensive? If it were a gay man accidentally kissing a straight woman and he freaked out would that be offensive? It�s a candy bar commercial. I thought it was humorous the same way I did about that scene in Grease where Danny and K-Nicky start punching each other and wind up in an embrace and then quickly jerk away and comb there hair and use there manly cool voices. Not a big deal people. I�m just saying.

And to top it off there are a couple of words I find really annoying. Skinny jeans. What the hell is that? A new word for the tapered jeans I wore in the 80s? I hate it because it implies that A: You have to be �skinny� to wear them or B: You�ll appear �skinny� if you wear them, like they are the new special jeans for the young, hip and good-looking. And to be honest, unless you like tight jeans showing off your hips for the size that they are (which I don�t mind and I�m a 12-14) you probably wouldn�t want to wear these. As I recall in the 80s these pants were bitches to get off over my feet.

I hate the use of the term �F-Bomb� like, �he dropped the F-bomb on live TV!� Ugh. I don�t know why it annoys me but it does. But then again I guess it�s shorter than saying �he said that word that rhymes with duck but with an f�.


1 comments so far

Previous - Next

Recent Entries:
Christmas time is here... - 2008-12-24
What? I'm still here?? - 2008-09-08
Stay hair and weight for me! - 2008-06-21
The post that finally arrived. - 2008-06-14
Under the WTF?!!? files - 2008-03-07