Older Entries
Current Entry
About Me
Cast
Photos
E-Mail
Host
I La-la-la- Love you
2006-05-27 - 7:11 p.m.

So I am back from London. The good news is that I don't have any serious problems. I will require some minor surgery but I can live with that. But London, oh sweet London, how I love thee.

First of all I went ALONE. Just me. No kids, no spouse, no noise, no worries. That in itself is sweet. But there's more. I was put up in a 3 or 4 star hotel with a stocked bar and room service. I took advantage of the room service a couple of times. I avoided the bar since it would've cost me about 10 bucks a pop for a little 2 ounce mini bottle of liquor. I'm not that hard up. The hotel was sort of centrally located. It was an easy walk to Big Ben, Picadilly Circus and Buckingham Palace. Yes, I walked to each and was a total tourist. I took one of those tour bus rides around London over the London Bridge and what-not.

I've mentioned before I think, of fantasies where I just take off on my own and live for awhile. Well, that week was it. I went and saw the stage production of Phantom of the Opera which was fantastic by the way. The stage was huge and it seem to shift around effortlessly. The singing was beautiful, I had a great seat and what can I say? It was awesome.

I also went to Madame Toussauds (sp?) Wax museum. The wax people freaked me out. A couple of times I'd be startled by one thinking it was real. It was the only way I'd get my photo with Nick Cage, Hugh Grant and Brad Pitt. I went through the Chamber of Horrors and the live one where lunatics are climbing up walls and getting as close to your face that you can feel their breath on your face. Little creepy but since I was all about being on my own I did the things that normally scare the pee out of me. I went to the London Dungeon as well. It's like a live tour of the history of London during the black plague I think, and Jack the Ripper and Sweeney Todd. I enjoyed that. Your tour people are all "dead" and the Sweeney Todd thing was a bit scarey cuz it's dark and you don't know what to expect and then your chair suddenly jerks back.

The last night I was there I gave myself a real treat. I saw the stage production of One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest. It was starring...get this... Christian Slater! I have been a long time fan of his and to get to see him live no more than 50 feet away from me stripped down to boxers was just...almost...orgasmic. That man has a body and a butt that I totally wouldn't mind ....um...well anyway, it was a treat. Oh and that girl with an accent from ER played the nurse.

I really enjoyed London to say the least. The weather was gray, chilly and wet but not bad. The streets were always bustling (the way I'd imagine New York to be) but the people were all very friendly and warm.

The cutest thing, a young woman approached me outside of the theater where I was smoking and said "Can aI bum a fag?" When I looked at her oddly, she said, "Is that cheeky of me?" with the darlingest accent. I gave her a smoke. She said Cheeky. heh. She invited me to go pubbing but I had to be up at 4 am to catch my flight out so I sadly declined.

So London....I cannot wait to go back.

1 comments so far

Previous - Next

Recent Entries:
Christmas time is here... - 2008-12-24
What? I'm still here?? - 2008-09-08
Stay hair and weight for me! - 2008-06-21
The post that finally arrived. - 2008-06-14
Under the WTF?!!? files - 2008-03-07