Older Entries
Current Entry
About Me
Cast
Photos
E-Mail
Host
Getting Better At Ball Control
2005-11-14 - 7:56 a.m.

Yes, that�s right; I�m getting better at ball control. I�m talking tennis people! What were YOU thinking? O here�s the thing, dh and I have started to play tennis. Well, hit the ball back and forth to the best of our ability anyway. Neither of us has played before so, you can imagine. The good thing is that we have found something we booth enjoy that is actually good for us. For me, it�s even bigger than that.

I�m not sure how it is for people who have spent their lives heavy but I think they are active because they learned to do it at whatever weight from the get-go. For me, I was always fairly thin and athletic. That is, until about 6 years ago. Several life experiences led me to put on a whopping 80 pounds. I began to feel sluggish and incapable of anything. I felt like I�d become way too fragile to do anything anymore. Every time I�d start a new diet or what not, I�d tell myself that I�m doing it so that I can get back in shape in order to be athletic again. Of course I wouldn�t lose the weight and resign myself to sitting on the sidelines. I�d long for the day when �I could play too�. Well, moving to Africa has been a Godsend in some ways for me.

First off I don�t have access to all the crap food I�m used to. Second off, I have a wonderful support group here. Third (and most important) I finally realized I�ve wasted a lot of time waiting for �when I�m in shape� to do the things I want to do. Now I just do them to the best of my ability. If I get tired, I stop. But I�m DOING them instead of just wishing I could. It has made all the difference in the world. My husband and I are both very competitive so it�s kind of funny to see us arguing about the game when we don�t even fully understand the rules and we both pretty much suck. Also, I have lost 19 pounds since I got here and still going. Yay for Africa.

1 comments so far

Previous - Next

Recent Entries:
Christmas time is here... - 2008-12-24
What? I'm still here?? - 2008-09-08
Stay hair and weight for me! - 2008-06-21
The post that finally arrived. - 2008-06-14
Under the WTF?!!? files - 2008-03-07