Older Entries
Current Entry
About Me
Cast
Photos
E-Mail
Host
13
2004-12-03 - 6:50 p.m.

My oldest daughter turns 13 this month and to commemorate the occasion (and also because the husband is out of town) I agreed to let her have a slumber party. This is her first so and likely to be one of the only so I wanted to make it special for her. I got a bunch of frozen pizzas, chips, soda, and movies etc. for the girls. So far there are 9 of them here.

As I was heating the pizza I was listening to the girls chatter and for a moment I got a glimpse of the past. They sound like a cluster of birds and when one laughs they all chime in as though some French fries have been tossed at a flock in front of a McD*nalds. They wiped out the food in about 10 seconds flat. Yea, girls will do that too. And then one approached me and timidly asked, �Can we make prank calls?� I looked into all those big hopeful eyes and into my daughters pleading eyes that begged me to please, please, please, be cool for just one night and said, �Yea, go ahead.� My daughter owes me BIG time.

I have to say it has been so amusing listening to them. I have had to chuckle at some of their calls to the boys. My favorites so far have been by the girl I�ll call Apu (like the slushee guy from Simpsons) for doing a dead on accent and say, �You kicked my dog, you bad person. You come to my house and kick my dog! Why do you do theeese tings to my dog?� And it turned out to be the Dad of the house who answered and luckily had a sense of humor. The other was a girl I�ll call squeaky for her mousy little voice who called and said; �This is 31 flavors Ice Cream giving you 31 seconds to list all 31 flavors for 31,000 dollars. I�ll give you a hint Chocolate chip cookie doughhhhhhh.� I know it seems kind of immature but they are just girls having fun. I listened to them talking about boys and who likes who and what girl thinks �she�s all that� and who is annoying and so on. But their laughter, that�s what I like hearing the most filled with their youth and innocence. And seeing the big smile on Kels face as she laughs with them let�s me know I�m doing all right as a parent.

At 13, I�d already been through a lifetime. I�d already been hurt. I�d already seen things a girl shouldn�t. I�d already had sex, been raped, and been introduced to drugs. I�d already had to go to work at a grill in a food truck. I�d experienced the beginnings of a long, long road to hell and back at 13. I was past a slumber party by then. I�d lost my youth. I know who has helped to sculpt me into who I am today so I don�t look back with regret.

I look at my daughter and know that she will never know that road. No time soon anyway. She will grow into a fine, strong young woman. I envy her although I am happy that she can have this time in her life. And although I�ll probably have a few parents a little peeved at me by tomorrow, I do so love to hear those birds sing.

1 comments so far

Previous - Next

Recent Entries:
Christmas time is here... - 2008-12-24
What? I'm still here?? - 2008-09-08
Stay hair and weight for me! - 2008-06-21
The post that finally arrived. - 2008-06-14
Under the WTF?!!? files - 2008-03-07