Older Entries
Current Entry
About Me
Cast
Photos
E-Mail
Host
Snow globes, cookies, and Colin
2004-12-08 - 9:47 p.m.

The past couple of entries have been only songs from the past but they hold a significant meaning to me that I simply cannot write about without possibly facing being misunderstood. But the past few days mark the anniversary of a time in my life that shaped who I am and where I am today. So I can�t and I won�t forget. And neither do they as I was shown today. Knowing that the special memories never fade makes it easier to let go of the hardest parts.

It�s been a rough couple of days with the monst�I mean kids. My darling son, broke my 2002 Mickey Mouse snow globe that I got for free the day after Thanksgiving for being one of the first 500 people in Sears. How did he break it? He was tossing it in the air with one hand and catching it. Because he didn�t think he could break it. I found out he lied about completing his homework the night before and the topper? I bought a bag of mini Reeses peanut butter cups in Oct. at the base (which is 5 hours away) just so that I could make these one type of cookies in Dec. I saved that fricking bag for 2 months only to find that my 2 oldest found it the other day and decided they didn�t need to ask and ripped it open and ate � of the bag. I guess that�s what I get for only buying one bag. I was pissed at this point. I know it�s nothing major, but when it�s one thing after another it kind of wears you down. Right after I had just given a long speech about respecting other people things my son went and got my tennis rackets took them out of their covers and left one on the floor in the laundry room in front of the refrigerator. I nearly stepped on it and broke it going to get the laundry. My son is almost 11, not a toddler, so you can see how this might be a �little� frustrating. Anyway�

Today my husband returned home from Sophia, Bulgaria. He was working in some sort of ministerial thing sort of manning the fort. I�m not really sure what the purpose of this thing was. Something political obviously but you know me, I don�t follow this sort of stuff. But it�s kinda cool to be married to someone who does. He is an important part of what makes things run smoothly at theses events and of course I am very proud of him. It�s been a long week without him. I didn�t write about it until now because I just wanted him to get home. We talked on the phone daily and sent emails but it�s not the same, ya know. I went to sleep alone every night and counted down the days until he got home. The coolest thing he got to do was meet Secretary of State Colin Powell. I tried to explain to the kids that their Dad met a man who our grandkids would read about as a part of History. Since I put it that way, they were mightily impressed. I am just happy that he is finally home. I have another party to cater for Friday and I need his help. Plus, I really missed him.

4 comments so far

Previous - Next

Recent Entries:
Christmas time is here... - 2008-12-24
What? I'm still here?? - 2008-09-08
Stay hair and weight for me! - 2008-06-21
The post that finally arrived. - 2008-06-14
Under the WTF?!!? files - 2008-03-07