Older Entries
Current Entry
About Me
Cast
Photos
E-Mail
Host
Objects In Mirror Are Younger Then They Appear
2004-09-09 - 4:22 p.m.

I didn�t mind it when people would tell me �You look just like your mother�. I always thought she was an attractive woman so it was a compliment. That is until I got older and it changed into, �Are you two sisters?� This, I did not like. However, my mother wanted to be seen more often out in public with me. She got the biggest kick out of it.

I used to go to the movies and get charged the youth price (when it was for 15 and under) when I was well into my 20s. I was carded for cigarettes well into my late 20s. Now I practically have to beg them to at least look at my ID. I feel like I look so old that they don�t even have to bother. Pfft.

Last week, I went out with some friends to go on this city block walk to see some bands. Now, I know my friend is about a foot shorter than me and I have yet to see any fine lines on her. She is 5 years older than me, and pushing 40 years old. Imagine my joy when a man asked me if she was my daughter.

The other day, I was out for a drive with Glen. I looked in the side mirror and caught a glimpse of myself. I have looked in that mirror for years. I always thought I looked pretty passable. That particular day, the sun was shining down a beautiful hazy gold. There was a slight breeze and as I inhaled the crisp, fresh air I looked in the mirror and saw the scariest thing looking back at me. It looked like one of those computer generated aging pictures of how you�ll look when you�re like 50 or 60. Except it was the real deal. I rubbed my eyes. Yup, the image was still there. When the heck did this happen?

I have been working with ways to deal with this. I tried the �heck with it, I�ll grow old naturally� approach but nope sorry, that one sucks now that I have hit this time in my life or whatever you want to call it. I�m 32 and I look 45. I have tried many a beauty product and after all the creams, greases, masks and goop it�s still me underneath. Wrinkles bags and all. I�m still toying with the Preperation H thing though. I wonder if you really can purchase a face bra. If so, someone point me to that website before someone asks me if I�m my kids grandma.

0 comments so far

Previous - Next

Recent Entries:
Christmas time is here... - 2008-12-24
What? I'm still here?? - 2008-09-08
Stay hair and weight for me! - 2008-06-21
The post that finally arrived. - 2008-06-14
Under the WTF?!!? files - 2008-03-07