Older Entries
Current Entry
About Me
Cast
Photos
E-Mail
Host
Free Falling
2004-07-25 - 6:34 p.m.

We went to the Prater today. It�s like the American version of a State Fair or the Del Mar Fair (for folks in Southern Ca.) only without all the livestock. They had all the rides only there were a few better ones as the Prater is stationary and opens every year from spring until the end of summer. I thought that we should do and see all the things Vienna has to offer since we only have a year left. So anyway, yea, we went to the Prater. Vienna is really big on dogs and they are everywhere so I thought, Scooter should come with us on our little outing so he can get used to being on a leash and being out in public and what better way then a noisy fair? He was very well behaved too.

We went on a few of the rides. I went on the giant Ferris wheel. My fear of heights seemed to have diminished a lot since I actually enjoyed it. I went on some ride where you lay down and it�s on a roller coaster track that goes upside down too. I didn�t much care for it because it kept pushing all my weight to my shoulders and neck. But at least I can say I did it. I went on a boomerang type roller coaster with Kelly too. Dylan hasn�t quite gotten brave enough for those types of rides but he did go on one called Ecstasy that spun you around upside down. There was a McDonalds there too so I got some fries. The kids had ice cream.

The biggest thing was there was this Bungee jump. We always see them but never venture that route. Today was different. I looked at Glen and said, �Why don�t you go on the Bungee jump?� He asked what I�d give him if he did. He was joking of course but I promised him a, um, �special favor� if he would do it. He said, �You want me to???� and I said, �Yea, I do�. We walked over there and I asked him if he was nervous. He said he wasn�t but I knew better. I thought for sure he�d back down. I told the kids he was going to do it. We got there and he took one last look at me and asked, �You sure?� I smiled and nodded. He walked up and paid the cash. They weighed him and fitted him with a harness. There was no backing down now. A crowd of people was watching. I could tell he was scared. His smile was big but I saw the fear in his eyes. I wondered how I could tell him to do something I clearly did not have the juevos to do myself. As he stepped on the lift he blew me a kiss. I mouthed the words �I love you� Just in case it was the last time I could tell him. He mouthed them back, you know, just in case. Then up he went. Kelly stood beside me and whispered a little chant that went something like �Please don�t let the rope snap� over and over again. Emi couldn�t look up. It was too much of a strain on her little neck. �Is Daddy gonna jump?�

�Yes, Emily he is�

�Is he gonna die?�

�Maybe?�

Kelly said she couldn�t watch. Then he spread his arms and dropped. In like 20 seconds it was over. It was over and he did it and he survived. There wasn�t a peep out of him till he was on the ground. I tensed up. I wondered if something in his brain shorted out with the drop? Then he let out a giant �WHOOOOOO!!!!� I think one of relief and exhilaration and the fact that it was over, he did it, and his pants were still dry. I was so proud at that moment. He came up to me, kissed me and told me if he could do that, he could do anything. I know what he means. I want to overcome my fears so that I can feel the same way. I want to so bad. Next time we go, I want to make the drop myself.

1 comments so far

Previous - Next

Recent Entries:
Christmas time is here... - 2008-12-24
What? I'm still here?? - 2008-09-08
Stay hair and weight for me! - 2008-06-21
The post that finally arrived. - 2008-06-14
Under the WTF?!!? files - 2008-03-07