Older Entries
Current Entry
About Me
Cast
Photos
E-Mail
Host
100% pure snow!!!
2004-02-28 - 10:33 a.m.

There was a new fresh fallen snow Monday night so Tuesday, we decided to take the kids for a little sledding. There were only a few little glitches in this great idea of mine. The first being, �Hello! I�m over weight and completely out of shape!� There are these mighty nice and steep (Lord help me!) trails to walk up. It felt like hiking Mt. Everest. OK so they are smaller than that but for me? I was huffing and puffing and wheezing my way up. My eyes watered, my nose was runny and every 5 minutes there was this really whiney �Are we there yet???� then Glen told me to shut up. I decided to sit and rest at some point and remembered that snow turns into water when it is melting under a plus-size butt. I was wearing blue jeans.

When we did make it to the wondrous hill of snow and possible death I wanted a nice chair to sit in. But no, I had to climb yet another hill in 8 inches of fresh snow. When I got as close to the top as I was going to get I plopped my butt in the blue, plastic, disc I started to re-think this plan. But my son was watching and urging me on. C�mon Mom! So off I went and suddenly turned around backwards and did a fun little flip. I just lay there for a minute or two till oh yea, snow = melted cold water. So I hopped or rather rolled back on and really started to go. As the disc sped up, so did the fine spray of snow in my face and up my nose. I was going SNOW blind. I had a sudden flash of my whole life before my eyes. Would I break any bones? Would I live? I couldn�t see and my heart was palpitating like nobody�s business. Whee. When I landed at the bottom, I just lay there again. So this is all the fun I�ve been missing out on huh? Then, kid comes up to me with a runny nose, wet clothes and a big grin.

�Hey Mom! Did you like it? Pretty cool huh?�

�Yea, cool but, I think that will be my only trip. Gotta conserve energy, ya know?�

I figured as long as I�m lying there I ought to get the full affect of the snow. I made an Angel. And it was a good one too. When I got up I was soaked and decided a really good idea would be to go home and have some nice hot Swiss White Chocolate coffe from International Coffees and think about that caf� and Jean-Luc.

Everyone went on ahead of me as we walked down a new set of trails. Everything was so white, I pondered whether or not heaven would look something like this or not. There was that stillness in the air that only snow seems to bring. Every couple of minutes I could hear a bird sing breaking the silence in a charming little way. Yea, everything was white and fluffy and still and God-like. I gotta give the big guy credit. He sure has a knack for beauty.

0 comments so far

Previous - Next

Recent Entries:
Christmas time is here... - 2008-12-24
What? I'm still here?? - 2008-09-08
Stay hair and weight for me! - 2008-06-21
The post that finally arrived. - 2008-06-14
Under the WTF?!!? files - 2008-03-07